I’m two days from the end of the semester and am already looking ahead to the books of summer. My daughter’s preschool actually continues through the short term, which I am not taking, meaning I will have three hours a day to MYSELF for about a month. I’m feeling lightheaded just thinking about it.

This lightheadedness might also explain the boldness of my summer reading/learning expectations. Here they are in order:

1. Rosetta Stone French. An hour a day. We bought it, I should learn it.
2. Bonhoeffer’s Ethics
3. J. Kameron Carter’s Race: A Theological Account
4. Timothy Jackson’s The Priority of Love

Three books and a language, right? Seems manageable. Except that I also have field ed this summer. Plus a lot of travel and returning to my role as primary caregiver to our increasingly irritable two-year old. And I should probably give the old GRE another crack. We’ll see how far I get.

For those of you still toiling through another month of class/papers/finals, what are you dreaming about reading this summer?

7 thoughts on “Summer reading

  1. I have a deep-seated conviction that “summer reading” ought not directly further one’s vocational aspirations, but should consist of fare like Harry Potter or Outlander (which I am presently devouring, despite the fact that I have three full weeks of classes yet and haven’t even STARTED one of my term papers).

    Nevertheless, I have selected two summer re-reads that are linked to my academic projects: Truth and Method and the Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. God, I love library science.

  2. I’m finally getting into The Brothers Karamazov. I would also like to read The 7 Habits of Highly Effective families, which I’ve procrastinated for almost a year… after that, maybe Wright’s Surprised by Hope and After You Believe.

Leave a Reply

